Since when did PIMP mean primp

Marie Claire has an article this month entitled “How to Pimp your pad“. It’s apparently a single girl’s guide to decorating her new place. 

Let’s have a little language lesson. 

According to Merriam-Webster Dictionary:

PIMP: a man who solicits clients for a prostitute

Or…TO PIMP: to make use of often dishonorably for one’s own gain or benefit

Now, how does this apply to redecorating, to sprucing, primping, applying paint, buying new furniture, hanging a painting????

Remodeling is not quite the same as sexual exploitation now is it. And I get the whole “let’s take back the language” thing. I think it is of great value to take a term that was originally created to demean or offend and make it part of everyday speech. Language looses a lot of power when it is in the right hands. My gay friend calls her girlfriend a dyke all the time. And I laugh at my friend as I call her a slut for being flirty. The list goes on. But re-associating pimp as a decorative term is just fucked. We are making the word pimp into something cool, trendy and beneficial. 

It pissed me off when a bunch of gangster wannabes started “Pimp my ride” but for a women’s magazine that considers itself quite feminist to use that term, Wow. 

Pimps aren’t cool. Pimp and Ho parties aren’t cool. ‘It’s hard out here for a pimp’ winning an Academy Award: not cool. So let’s maybe think twice before we throw trendy language out there without even thinking about what it signifies. K.

“I feel like my place is a little run down and not too stylish, thank goodness for Marie Claire, I can now go find a vulnerable women, who is most likely poor and drug addicted and I can take advantage of her, convince her that I’ll help her out, send guys who want to fuck her her way and then take half the profit. Oh, you meant the new definition of pimp. Sprinkle with colour and make a place homey. Shame on me for thinking that the term from the 1600s applied here.”

1 Comment

Filed under language, Legalize Prostitution, Sex trade, Sexism, Women's Magazines

One response to “Since when did PIMP mean primp

  1. Anonymous

    I really, really wish you would cry about insignificant things a little bit more.

Leave a Reply

